top of page

New Co-Pastor Returns to Childhood Home

The following is a letter from me to the city of Clifton:

(A portion of this letter was published in the Clifton Record on August 3, 2016; Life UPC of Clifton is honoring their new co-pastor August 6, 2016 with a service and reception at 3pm)


Dear Clifton,


There is one thing I know: Everyone needs a place to call home. I haven’t live in Clifton my whole life, but it was always the place I came to when I needed a reminder of who I was. My earliest memories are of this town and some of my most cherished traditions are rooted within its city limits. Whether learning to ride horses at the rodeo arena; playing pirate ships at the old park; or singing “God Bless America” at the Tin Building this place has left a mark.


I know many do not know me, so let me introduce myself. I was the spirited red-headed little girl standing on the pews of the church I now pastor, because I was too short to see the preacher from the third row. You might have found a small blue tambourine in my hand and heard me singing to the top of my lungs.


I was always eager to spend time at my grandparents’ house in Clifton, because my Meme had a microphone and a tape recorder. Other kids my age played “house” or “doctor”, but I played “church.” I would line up the stuffed animals and dolls; grab the red vinyl stool from the dining room; and cue the music. My grandmother, who many of you know as “the Bread Lady,” would play a song or two and I would give the sermon. It was usually a combination of sermons I had heard from my father, grandfather, or founding pastor of the Clifton church.


There is one service that is forever etched in my memory, probably for the embarrassment of it all. The founding pastor was preaching and said something to the effect of, “Can I get an Amen?” You guessed it. I was the only one that said Amen. Loud and proud. I remember the congregation chuckling under their breath, as I buried my face in the pew where I once stood.


As a minister, I appreciate these memories from a new perspective. You see, I love God and I love church. Even at the tender age of a preschool student, I learned from watching my family what it meant to worship and serve God with my whole heart.


I might not have always lived here, but I was raised here. Now, I am here to give back to the community that has always been there for me. Please join the Life Pentecostal Church family and I in celebrating the next chapter of our story.


God Bless,


Rev. Brittney Diamond Dool

Co-Pastor; Life Pentecostal Church

Clifton, Texas

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page